The Rangers History Project

under construction


Text Text Text



Tennents Sixes



The Tennents' Sixes was an annual indoor football tournament contested each January by Scottish senior football clubs - usually from the (then) Premier Division, but occasionally with guest participants from the lower divisions of the Scottish Football League, and in one instance English club Manchester City [1] - between 1984 and 1993. The tournament was sponsored by Tennent Caledonian Breweries and organised by the Scottish Football Association. When Tennent Caledonian Breweries withdrew their sponsorship after the 1993 event, the Sixes was discontinued.
The format used was dependent on the number of teams participating: in most cases 10 teams were involved and would be drawn into 2 groups of 5 who would play each other once. From there, the first and second-placed teams from each group would contest the knockout stages, comprised of two semi-finals and a final.
The inaugural tournament was contested at Coasters Arena in Falkirk in 1984. The following year it took place at Ingliston Showground near Edinurgh, and all subsequent tournaments were played at the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre in Glasgow.
No individual team dominated the event over its history with Aberdeen, Heart of Midlothian and Rangers all winning the tournament 2 times each. Motherwell were beaten finalists on 4 occasions.




1984 Rangers

1985 Heart of Midlothian

1986 Aberdeen

1987 Aberdeen

1988 Dundee

1989 Rangers

1990 Hibernian

1991 Hearts

1992 Celtic

1993 Partick Thistle



16-17th January. Coasters Arena, Falkirk.

Rangers squad

Andy Bruce, Jimmy Nicholl, John McClelland, Ally Dawson, Billy Davies, Bobby Williamson, Ian Redford, David Mitchell, Derek Ferguson, Davie Cooper.


Group 1

Rangers 3 - 2 St Johnstone

Scorers: Dawson (2) Cooper pen

Rangers 2 - 1 Hibs

Scorers:Cooper (2, 1 pen)

Semi Final

Rangers 2 - 1 Motherwell

Scorers: Williamson Cooper


Rangers 6 - 4 Dundee

Scorers: Williamson (2) Cooper (2, 1 pen) Dawson Davies


20-21th January Ingliston Exhibition Centre, Edinburgh.

Rangers squad

Andy Bruce, Davie McKinnon, Stuart Munro, Craig Paterson, Robert Prytz, Derek Ferguson, John MacDonald, Ally McCoist, Ian Durrant.

Ted McMinn replaced Robert Prytz in the Hibs game!


Group 1

Rangers 4 - 3 Morton

Scorers: Prytz (2, 1 pen) Stuart Munro John MacDonald

Rangers 1 - 3 St Mirren

Scorers: John MacDonald

Rangers 1 - 3 Dundee

Scorers: Robert Prytz pen.

Rangers 4 - 0 Hibs

Scorers: Ally McCoist (3) John MacDonald


Hearts 4 - 1 Morton



9-20th January SECC, Glasgow

Rangers did not enter



Aberdeen 3 - 0 St Mirren



18-19th January SECC, Glasgow

Rangers squad

Hamilton, Nichol, Stuart Munro, Ally Dawson, Roberts, John Spencer, Robert Fleck, Colin West, Ally McCoist, Neil Woods.

Jimmy Nichol only played in the Dundee game.
John Spencer only in the Motherwell match.


Group 2

Rangers 3 - 4 Dundee

Scorers: Roberts West Dawson

Rangers 2 - 4 Motherwell

Scorers: Fleck McCoist


Aberdeen 4 - 3 Hibs




24-25th January

Rangers did not compete


Dundee 3 - 2 Motherwell



22-23rd January SECC, Glasgow

Rangers squad

Chris Woods, Stuart Munro, Neale Cooper, Jimmy Nichol, Ian McCall, Graeme Souness, Davie Cooper, Scott Nisbet, John Spencer, Gary McSwegan, Ally McCoist.


Group 2


Rangers 2 - 2 Dundee Utd

Scorers: McCoist (2)

Rangers won on penalties!

Rangers 2 - 1 Hibs

Scorers:Neale Cooper Gary McSwegan

Rangers 1 - 3 Motherwell


Rangers 2 - 0 Hearts

Scorers:Davie Cooper pen Neale Cooper

Rangers 3 - 1 Celtic

Scorers:Davie Cooper (2) John Spencer


Rangers 2 - 1 Motherwell

Scorers: Neale Cooper John Spencer